Cilantro and Goat Cheese Sweet Potato Mash


Another recipe with goat cheese. It’s goat cheese week! I love side dishes that are packed with flavor and dead easy to make. For this side, you don’t even have to peel the potatoes, as the skins are full of vitamins and fiber and have an earthy taste you wouldn’t want to miss.

We had this for lunch with a creamy leek toast. (For that, cook some leeks in butter; once soft, add a bit of cream; bubble away, then pop it on toasted bread; top with cheese and broil in the oven.)

Serves 4

Ingredients

• 1 large sweet potato
• 1 medium potato
• 100g goat cheese
• 1 small bunch cilantro, chopped
• 1 tablespoon butter
• salt + black pepper

Rinse your potatoes under water, then cut them into 1″ cubes, without peeling.
Put them in a medium pot and cover with water. Add a pinch of salt.
Bring to a boil and cook until the potatoes are tender, about 15-20 minutes.
Drain them, put back in the pot, and mash.
Add the goat cheese, cilantro, and butter. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

7 Comments on “Cilantro and Goat Cheese Sweet Potato Mash”

  1. Corina says:

    What a delicious combination. I love anything with cilantro in though!

  2. I love goats cheese week – one of my favourite cheeses. Great looking mash too – it has the same colour as my just posted sweet potato soup – so vivid isn’t it?!

  3. emmycooks says:

    I used to make twice-baked sweet potatoes with a filling a bit like this–but now that I’ve seen your post I know that next time I go this route I’m going to have to do the mash with leek toast instead. The combination sounds just amazing. I’m so glad to have found your site/recipes/photos!

  4. cjdelgrosso says:

    It’s goat cheese week? How did I miss this memo? Goat cheese is absolutely one of my favorite cheese to eat, use, cook with, bathe with. Another recipe that I will be cooking.. Thanks Bryan!


Leave a Reply

