Blue Cheese, Bacon, and Leek Quiche

I promised Eggton a recipe with bacon. What I came up with is a really tasty quiche that’s packed with flavor. It can be enjoyed hot or cold as a perfect breakfast, or you can serve it up for lunch with a bit of salad. Make it a day or two in advance if you’re going to be pressed for time – it keeps well. If you can’t stand blue cheese, use any kind that you prefer.

Dough

• 1 cup white flour
• 5 tablespoons unsalted butter
• 2-3 tablespoons milk
• a pinch of salt

Mix together the flour and salt. Rub the flour with the butter until you get a sandy texture. Then add just enough milk to make a smooth dough. Cover and chill for 30 minutes.

Pre-Baking

Preheat oven to 350°F.
Roll your pastry and line a 8″ or 9″, greased and floured pie pan.
Put some tin foil or parchment paper on the pastry and then a baking weight. I used dried chickpeas.
Blind bake (meaning pre-bake) in the oven for 15 minutes.
Remove the pan from the oven and remove the weight and foil.
Make some little holes on the bottom with a fork.
Return to the oven for 10 minutes.

Quiche

• 2 leeks, whites only, finely chopped
• 8 slices bacon, sliced
• 1/2 cup (about 100g) blue cheese
• 3/4 cup milk
• 3/4 cup cream
• 3 eggs
• 1 egg yolk

Fry your bacon in a pan on medium-high heat until crispy. Turn the heat to medium and add the leeks. Stir for about 10 minutes, until the leeks are soft. Remove from heat.
In a bowl whisk the milk, cream and eggs together. Season with salt and pepper.

Spread the bacon/leek mixture in the pre-cooked dough.
Top with chunks of blue cheese and then pour the eggs/milk mixture over.

Bake for 30-35 minutes at 350°F.

16 Comments on “Blue Cheese, Bacon, and Leek Quiche”

  1. Eggton says:

    Dude, you are awesome. I just sent it to Scott, who is probably going to come home from work immediately and insist we have this for dinner.

    I found out last night that my next door neighbor (a shop-keeper) gets farm-fresh eggs delivered every Thursday. They’re going to be so good in this.

    Also, I like how the light is catching the crust in the back of the last picture.

    • Bryan says:

      You’re lucky if you can get farm-fresh eggs, they’re so good. I wish I knew someone around here with a farm. We can’t wait to be in a position to have our own chickens.

      Enjoy! Tell me how it turns out.

    • I recently had my first farm fresh eggs from a local market nearby and I’m hooked! I couldn’t believe what a difference it makes. The yolks are so much brighter, the shells more delicate, and the different colors and sizes are just fun.

  2. What a truly incredible sounding quiche – delicious! I love the crust and the colour of the filling 😀

  3. Scott says:

    Bryan, this is Scott.

    I’m leaving work now.

    I don’t know how this came about, but regardless, you just made my day.

  4. Karista says:

    Fantastic! The crust looks divine. I’m from the South (U.S.) and we’re all about the crust. 🙂

  5. Karen says:

    I just love blue cheese and your blue cheese and bacon cheese quiche sounds wonderful.

  6. bellacorea says:

    I love any kind of quiche but I’ve never tried them ever.. So I have a question.. When a dough chill for 30mins is it supposed to be in refrigerator? I guess… but just make sure! Thank you!

  7. Villy says:

    Blue cheese! YUM! Looks amazing!

  8. Rosemarie says:

    making this for the folk’s church pot luck Sunday. Thanks Chef Bryan 😀

  9. Despite eating breakfast before reading your post, I want to eat all over again after seeing these appetizing photos.

  10. Louise says:

    This is deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelicious! Wow!


Leave a Reply

