Coconut Cream Pie

Yesterday at the grocery I spent rather a long time in the baking aisle. I wanted a packet of dried coconut – very finely hashed. Thinking in French of “flocons de coconut,” I looked for “flakes.” You can’t get smaller than a “flake,” I thought; and for my coconut cream pie, only the shortest, finest pieces would do. Cream fillings need to be smooth, not rocky.

What I found in the baking aisle was a whole coconut section. There was “medium dried coconut,” which looked the same as the “flaked”; and then there was “shredded,” which seemed exactly like the “medium.” I stood there, put on the spot by clever coconut producers, who hoped I would buy all three types – just to be safe. Luckily, I can see through clear plastic, and after a closer examination (some shaking of the bags), I realized there wasn’t a significant difference in cut or size of the coconut in any of them. I ended up choosing “flaked,” because that’s all I had wanted in the first place; also because “shredded” just sounds unpleasant

This is my latest recipe. Works great with any sweet tooth.

Dough

• 1 cup flour
• 6 tablespoons unsalted butter
• 1 tablespoon sugar
• 1/4 teaspoon salt

Mix together the flour, sugar, and salt. Rub the flour with the butter until you get a sandy texture. Then add just enough cold water to make a smooth dough, about 3 tablespoons. Cover and chill for 30 minutes.

Roll the dough and line a 9 inch pie pan. Cook in the oven at 350F for 15-20 minutes.

Filling

• 1 1/2 cup milk
• 1/2 cup heavy cream
• 1/3 cup flour
• 1/2 cup sugar
• 2 eggs
• 1 cup sweetened, flaked coconut
• 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
• pinch of salt

In a bowl mix together the eggs, sugar and salt.
In a saucepan, on low heat, bring the milk and cream to a simmer. Whisk in the flour a little at a time. Stir constantly for 2 minutes.
Add the eggs and sugar mixture and simmer for another 2 minutes, whisking to avoid clumps. Remove from heat and add the coconut and vanilla. Let cool for about 15 minutes.
Pour into the baked pie crust. Cover and let cool in the fridge for a couple of hours. Once it’s chilled, top with the whipped cream and the toasted coconut.

Whipped Cream

• 1 1/2 cup heavy cream
• 2 tablespoons sugar
• 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

In a large bowl, mix all the ingredients. Whisk until you have a nice, thick cream. You can use an electric mixer.

Toasted Coconut

• 1/2 cup flaked coconut

Put in a pan and in the oven at 350°F for 5-10 minutes or until browned, shaking the pan occasionally.

8 Comments on “Coconut Cream Pie”

  1. Eggton says:

    Yum. I’ve never made a coconut pie before. This looks lovely. There’s something about the move into spring that made me think of coconut too– I made a lemon loaf this week and threw some coconut and white chocolate in there. I used a flake coconut that was sweetened and kind of moist in the bag, as opposed to the dried coconut I’ve gotten in the health food store. I am so jealous you found a store with coconut CHOICES. The store closest to me doesn’t even carry hazelnuts, cashews, soba noodles, basmati rice, chard, arugula, tarragon. . . it’s annoying.

  2. cjdelgrosso says:

    Who doesn’t love coconut cream pie!?!

  3. I love Coconut Cream Pie! My grandmother used to make it with a meringue instead of whipped cream. I would love to try your version.

    Thanks for sharing.
    Melissa

  4. What an absolutely beautiful pie. I’ve never made, eaten or heard of this – but it sounds great. Nice post 🙂

  5. k.m. says:

    Wow! Gorgeous pie.

    I once read a recipe that suggested blitzing the coconut in a food processor if the coconut flakes were too large (I’ve also seen what’s called flaked coconut around here), but looking at the pictures I think yours is perfect as is!

  6. myfudo says:

    I am in awe at the wonders of coconut…Your coconut cream pie looks fantastic. Wanna try this out too.

  7. This is beautiful, especially the shot of the thick custard flowing into that crust. I like how you’ve just draped the crust over the edges of the pan, too. The whole pie has a lovely simple rustic look.

  8. huntfortheverybest says:

    this sounds sooo good. your cream filling looks heavenly.


Leave a Reply

